John Horrocks Cottage

John Horrocks Cottage and Interpretive Centre:

Located on the corner of Surrey Lane and Horrocks Highway, Penwortham (10 km south of Clare).

John Horrocks Cottage is the oldest stone building north of Gawler and was built by John Horrocks shortly after his arrival in South Australia from Lancashire, England in 1839. With Government aid and support from the local wineries and traders, the Society purchased the cottage in 2001. Restoration has since been ongoing on the cottage and ajoining heritage building, where books and merchandise are currently for sale.
While visiting the cottage take a self-guided walk of the picturesque village of Penwortham with the aid of a printed guide available at the cottage and the Clare Valley Visitor Centre.
John Horrocks Cottage and Interpretive Centre are open on the first Sunday of the Month between 2pm-4pm or by appointment. We also cater for small groups and school visits.
History room

Resource Centre:

Located in the Watervale Institute, Watervale, SA - Access by appointment only (phone 8849 2410 or 8843 0140)

The building houses the MHHS Collection of family histories, local cemetery records, memorabilia and historical documents including diaries, journals, memoirs and an extensive collection of old photos (see the galleryfor examples). The History Room provides a facility for the public to research their family history or find out more about the area. It also contains a small library. The office provides scanning, copying and general computing facilities.